Sleep Training, It’s My Favorite Thing!

Relieved parents

Last night was the first night trying to retrain Bella to go to sleep, in her room, when it was time for bed. A simple request for a nearly 2-year-old, but one she had begun to have extreme difficulty with.

We reverted back to our previous sleep training with our “modified” Ferber. She had fallen asleep on R and I picked her up and put her in her crib. She immediately started screaming.

We let this go for 5 minutes. Then I got her to lay back down and sat with her for 5 minutes.

I leave and we listen to 10 minutes of screaming before I return to yet again help her lie back down and then sit there for 5 minutes.

I leave again and we get to listen to her scream for 15 minutes, then I head back in and get her to lie down and sit with her for 5 minutes. (Side Note: sometime during this process she turned on the light in her closet which she can reach the switch for from her crib).

Finally, during the 20 minute crying session, she must have passed out from exhaustion.

This ordeal started at 8:20pm and ended around 9:35pm. It sucked.

All night I lay in bed waiting for her to wake up, knowing it would be harder to do the sleep training when I was sleepy. This means I didn’t sleep well, waking frequently until at 4am I really woke up with a nasty migraine. I took some sumatriptan, sat back in bed and prepared myself to tell R he had to handle her if she got up until I felt better.

But the time kept passing. And finally around 6:40am I heard a small voice, calming calling out “Mommy”. Holy crap, she slept through the night!

Then today, she ASKED to go down for her nap for the 2nd day in a row (she was getting cranky), and again slept almost 3 hours.

After bath time tonight we tried to put her to bed, but she started flipping out and saying something we couldn’t understand. Eventually she said yes when I asked if she wanted her medicine (Hyland’s Teething Tablets). After she had a few of those in the kitchen, I asked her if she wanted to go to bed and she said “No”. So I asked her if she wanted to snuggle on R and she said “Yes”. He got himself settled and she went back to her room to get her Pooh Bear and a blanket (she already had her binkie).

We let her rest on R while we watched several atrocious innings of the Phillies game and then I picked her up and said it was time for bed.

She was fine walking to her room.

She was fine when we got in there.

She was fine when I laid her in the crib.

She was fine as I talked to her for 30 seconds about me leaving the closet light on for her and Daddy and I being right down the hall.

Then she sat up, stood up, grabbed my arm and started screaming. Crap.

I “helped” her lay back down, threw her blanket over her legs and ran out of the room. Once I got out to the living room, I started the stop watch on my computer, ready for a repeat performance. But before we even hit 5 minutes, she was quiet already. Phew. I don’t know what things will be like overnight, if I’ll be as lucky as last night, but at least we’re on the right track.

About snarkysillysad
A former marketing professional with 15 years of experience in the technology industry. Through her blog she has shared her journey through pregnancy and motherhood as well as her struggle with migraines, depression, and chronic pain

One Response to Sleep Training, It’s My Favorite Thing!

  1. Jess Petersen says:

    Yea!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! New Sherriff in town;)! Praying for a new trend for you! I am physically and mentally relieved for you!! Here is to many more!!!!!!!
    My baby turns 8 tomorrow and I would give anything for her to be 2-3 again….especially when I see pics of her at that age. She is still the sweet lil thing she was then, but no sleepin problem. I KNOW that would change my mind a little;) A few tears tomorrow for me I am sure.
    For you…..WAY TO GO MOM!!!!!! YOU ARE GONNA MAKE IT, EVEN IF WE CRY AND CUSS R KIDS SOMEMORE;)

Leave a Reply

