Defeated by a 2-Year-Old (UPDATED AGAIN)

Mommy Gives Up

Things finally came to a head yesterday. We couldn’t even get Bella to take a nap. At all. Something had to give and I have realized over these past 2 years, that rarely will it be my daughter that gives.

After 1 step forward, we have now taken 5 steps back. Bella must fall asleep on R in the recliner before being put to bed OR I have to sit with her in her bedroom until she falls soundly asleep. Same thing goes for naps.

Do, I like this? Hell no. But something is going on with her and we don’t know what. We can only assume that she’s having a combination teething/separation anxiety/switched to a bed too soon/too much mobility for her own good thing. Or she’s just trying to show us whose boss.

All I know is, as much as it literally pains me, until I can start putting her back in her crib without her immediately starting to cry or climb out, I will be spending a lot of time in the recliner in her room.

I don’t know if it’s the stress from this situation, being back in the recliner or what, but my neck and shoulder have been incredibly painful the past 2 days. They’ve hurt as badly as the first week on antibiotics. The “super cream” has actually been providing enough relief to keep me from having to use oral narcotics, but today I also had an honest to goodness migraine to go along with the neck pain. Yippee.

I feel ok now, but there is lingering pain in my neck and if I want Bella to take a nap today, I’ll probably be recliner-bound shortly (3 or 4 weeks ago she would have ASKED to go take a nap by now).

I know in the grand scheme of things, this problem will not last that long. But, when you’re fighting pain, fighting sleep and being forced into an uncomfortable position frequently…. it seems like forever?

UPDATE: I forgot to mention that not only was she impossible to get to sleep last night, but she was up every 3 hours and I had to sit with her for an nearly an hour each time AND she is refusing to take a nap again today, even if I stay in the room with her.

UPDATE #2: She started saying “seepies” again around 1:45, so R laid her down in her crib. She cried for about 5 minutes, but she didn’t climb out and did fall asleep for almost 3 hours. Phew. I guess we’re just going to need to push her naps later in the day than they were. And I didn’t have to stay in the room with her – woohoo! We’ll see how bedtime goes.

About snarkysillysad
A former marketing professional with 15 years of experience in the technology industry. Through her blog she has shared her journey through pregnancy and motherhood as well as her struggle with migraines, depression, and chronic pain

2 Responses to Defeated by a 2-Year-Old (UPDATED AGAIN)

  1. Jess Petersen says:

    So sorry snarky. My youngest was like that the 1 st year or so….just weird sleep patterns and I was used to getting my nap (eldest was a good sleeper). This isn’t what it was “supposed to be like”…. Believe me, I know. Don’t be hard on yourself. I know…easier said than done. But with a lil counseling and A LOT of love and grace from above, I take it day by day….as I think most lyme’s do. But , no denying you are in a pinch and need some sleep WITHOUT “what if”. I get it, believe me, I do.

    • Bella has been a problematic sleeper throughout, but around January she finally started sleeping through the night regularly. Just when I started getting used to getting some sleep, she changes things up again.

Leave a Reply

