Oxycodone is a Cruel Mistress.

My Mistress

She seduces me with that “come hither” look. Says she will “take all the pain away”.

But then she pulls the chair out from under me and pins me to the floor saying ” you didn’t plan on accomplishing anything today, did you?”

But I did. I have laundry, and meat to pack up for the freezer and more reviews to do and blog posts to write for C3.

But all I can think about is how nice it would feel to close my eyes (even just for a little while).

That’s OK. Her days are numbered. If Bella would sleep like a normal toddler, Oxycodone might even be gone already. But she’s here and today she’s in control. I can hear my bed calling me… I’ll be there in just  a minute.

About snarkysillysad
A former marketing professional with 15 years of experience in the technology industry. Through her blog she has shared her journey through pregnancy and motherhood as well as her struggle with migraines, depression, and chronic pain

3 Responses to Oxycodone is a Cruel Mistress.

  1. She doesn’t care for me at all. She torments me with night terrors and yet a placebo sugar pill effect. it’s really not right. She really is cruel.

  2. Jessica Petersen says:

    I too am a mom. I have two young children(one is 8 this month & in 2nd grade:( ), and the other is 3. I agonize over the same things….. Taking narcs for a long time, but if I don’t I am complete bi*** and can’t participate in ANYTHING due to pain and fatigue. The meds actually give me clarity. But after years it can’t go on forever ? I agonize over the same things. I too thought a diagnosis would give me peace…..but have learned this is a marathon not a 5K. Especially when the dx is so controversial. I love your blog and I am so sorry you are going through this.

    • My big problem is that my body adjusts to medications (I don’t know if this is a side effect of the Lyme or just how my body chemistry works). Tylenol 3 with codeine – no good. vicodin – no good. oxycotin – no good. oxycodone – works. my awesome, new topical cream has still yet to impress me. I think I felt better after my Mom hit me with some of her Biofreeze today in all honestly. And in the back of all of our minds, especially us mothers, is the fear of addiction. But when you need to be at least somewhat pain-free to function, what can you do? I try as often as I can to skip the hard pills. I’ve been using my heat wrap on my neck so often I’ve gotten burn marks on my upper chest. As I type this, my neck hurts. I used the wonder cream earlier, I’ll probably switch to heat soon and if that doesn’t calm things enough, I’ll take oxycodone before bed. Thanks for reading, sorry you’re in the same boat.

Leave a Reply

