Bella, Don’t You Want Mommy to Get Better?

Just when I think I’m making progress, Bella pulls the rug out from under me

By the time the day ended yesterday, I was feeling cautiously optimistic. I had barely any pain while taking my oxycodone and after 1pm, I didn’t take any painkillers of any kind.

Then Little Miss Fussy Pants decided to flip out around 2am. She came into our room (she has just figured out how to open her door) and in his sleepy state, R put her in bed with us. After an hour of having feet in my face, stomach and back, I took Bella back to her room and told her I would sit in the recliner with her while she fell asleep.

I half-slept and went back to my bed around 4am. Bella was up again around 5:30 or 6am and ready for her day (I wasn’t).

I immediately noticed forehead pain and tried to judge if I could tolerate it. But as the minutes ticked by, it got worse and worse because by the time it hit 7am, I had to take an oxycodone. Unfortunately, it seems I had back-slid several days and even with medicine I was still in pain. And of course I had a job interview at 11am.

Mom showed up to watch Bella while I went to the job interview. It was OK, it’s a really convenient job, but I think they will low-ball me on the salary if we even get that far.

I was feeling like crap when I left and by the time I got home, all I wanted was to strip out of my dress clothes and take another oxycodone, this time for excruciating neck pain. Mom fed Bella some lunch and put her down for her nap and we sat and chatted for a little while.

After Mom left, I caught up on the interwebs and then laid down myself.

I was hoping to avoid a 7pm dose of medicine, but no such luck. At least it is masking the pain this time.

About snarkysillysad
A former marketing professional with 15 years of experience in the technology industry. Through her blog she has shared her journey through pregnancy and motherhood as well as her struggle with migraines, depression, and chronic pain

Leave a Reply

