Today Was a Good Day

It didn’t start out that way. Bella was up at 2:45am and I had to stay with her until 3:45am when I could slip out and go back to my bed, and then she was up for the day around 5am. Bella apparently doesn’t read the books on how much sleep she’s supposed to get (11 hours overnight – hahahahaha).

Once I gave up on trying to get her to fall back to sleep in my bed, we started our day. We’ve been sharing a bowl of dry cereal (I need food in my belly for my antibiotics to not tear my stomach up) while she drinks her milk and I sip on coffee.

Around 7am, I decided I wasn’t going to be able to handle the pain I was in without help and took an oxycodone. Then I waited for Bella to get done with her milk so I could change her and head to the grocery store for the first time in like 2 weeks.

Grocery shopping with a 2-year-old can be exhausting regardless of what else is going on in your life, but when there’s an internal battle between a virus and antibiotics, everything seems harder and takes more energy.

By the time we got home from the store and I put the groceries away, I was hoping Bella would be about ready for naptime. I offered to feed her first and she was picky so I told her there would be no TV if she was going to be like that. This lead to a crying fit, her falling asleep in my lap, me tossing her off my lap to grab the phone only to find it was an automated call.

I put CNN on to watch the Hurricane Isaac coverage and Bella fell asleep on the recliner next to me. After about 10 minutes, I tried to move her to her crib, but she flipped out whenI put her in it. I took an oxycodone at 1pm and then I stayed with her in her room for 15 minutes until she had calmed down and fallen asleep and then went to go rest in my own room. It was a short-lived nap for Bella (only 90 minutes). I tried to get her to come into bed with me and even turned the TV on, but she wouldn’t snuggle.

So off to the living room to wait for Daddy to get home. She did better at dinner tonight (she loves her salmon), but I still need to figure out why she’s been flipping out at night and if there’s anything I can do about it.

After dinner R noticed a package on the front steps and Stace had sent me a beautiful bouquet of flowers. They were just what I needed.

I’m still having problems typing, but I’m hoping that rectifies itself soon. I have a job interview tomorrow that I feel slightly unprepared for. But you know what? It’s been over 6 hours since I last took oxycodone and I’m managing for the first time in 5 days.

About snarkysillysad
A former marketing professional with 15 years of experience in the technology industry. Through her blog she has shared her journey through pregnancy and motherhood as well as her struggle with migraines, depression, and chronic pain

Leave a Reply

