The Good, The Bad & The Ugly

One step up and 2 steps back

Today was a tough day. I didn’t sleep well overnight (I woke up in pain after only 3 hours) and never got back into a sound sleep after that. Bella was up too early and too full of energy. I knew something wasn’t quite right immediately, but it took me a few minutes to figure out I was having double vision and some vertigo symptoms. These were new and in addition to the pain I’ve been having even with doses of oxycodone every 6 hours. I was additionally having problems typing for some reason.

My folks were able to come over and get Bella and take her for 6 hours or so. I just wasn’t in any shape to mother her today. If all goes as planned, my friend C3 will be coming down tomorrow morning with her son to keep me company, talk business and give me a little break if Bella is in a mood.

But I made a breakthrough today as well. There were a few periods were the oxycodone worked and I was virtually pain-free for stretches at a time. I still needed to keep my eyes closed because of the vision problems, but I felt a little better. I’m hopeful that more of tomorrow will be spent feeling good and look forward to the time when no narcotics are required to achieve this.

I’ve joined a bunch of Chronic Lyme groups and there are so many people out there who have it so much worse than me, but still… daily, chronic pain is exhausting and when it gets kicked up a notch by a bacteria getting into a turf war with antibiotics… well, it’s not fun for anyone.

But it’s all worth it for the end result: the end to daily migraines and disappearance of my depression symptoms. I don’t know how much of an affect the Lyme has had on either because I was bitten so many years ago. I don’t know that I’ll be lucky enough to not need to take anything prophylactically for the migraines, but who knows.

P.S. As soon I realized I was having double vision, I proceeded to get this stuck in my head the rest of the day:

About snarkysillysad
A former marketing professional with 15 years of experience in the technology industry. Through her blog she has shared her journey through pregnancy and motherhood as well as her struggle with migraines, depression, and chronic pain

One Response to The Good, The Bad & The Ugly

  1. Bill says:

    Someday, Lou Gramm will answer for his crimes.

Leave a Reply

