Being Woken Up by Pain

At some point in their lives, most people will wake up and realize, “Wow, I hurt”. They hurt because they exercised too hard, they injured themselves or they have an illness. I’ve done this plenty of times myself (usually after yard work).

But being woken up BY pain is a completely different animal. You’re laying there, sleeping comfortably when suddenly you realize you’re not asleep anymore. You’re not quite awake, but there’s one thing you’re sure of: you’re in pain. For me, it’s the all-too-familiar pain of a migraine.

In the past, I was only woken up by a migraine a few times a year. The past week and a half it’s happened half a dozen times. I take sumatriptan, so back to bed and hope the pain goes away. It usually does but then you have migraine hangover all day. (For the layman: migraine hangover is a feeling of being tired, achy, lethargic, and worst of all; on the verge of the migraine coming back at any time).

But you’re not actually in pain at that time. Except I unfortunately am in pain because I have developed a horrible neck issue over the past 2 weeks as well. I basically keep a heat wrap around my neck 24/7. My muscle relaxers don’t work and I can’t take narcotics when I have a toddler to watch.

It’s frustrating. I’m trying to be positive, but it’s difficult when the day starts this way.

Doc T may get some of my blood work back today and if the neck pain persists, we’re going to do an MRI. But still no answers and no relief.

And I have a job interview tomorrow. My head says we NEED the money, but my heart starts breaking at the thought of being away from Bella. We’ll see how the interview goes. I unfortunately think my reluctance to be away from Bella comes through somehow.

I hope everyone else has a wonderful day. I’m going to try to myself. I have Good Donor picking up a donation today, so that’s a good thing.

About snarkysillysad
A former marketing professional with 15 years of experience in the technology industry. Through her blog she has shared her journey through pregnancy and motherhood as well as her struggle with migraines, depression, and chronic pain

One Response to Being Woken Up by Pain

  1. Bill says:

    Best of luck at your interview! We all know you’ll nail it.

Leave a Reply

