Migraine = 1 : Me = 1

Last night sucked. I woke up at 4am with a migraine. There is nothing quite like being woken up by intense pain. I went and took a sumatriptan and sat up in bed and tried to go back to sleep. By 5am I realized the medicine wasn’t working, so I went and took another dose.

I crawled out of bed around 6:30am, bleary-eyed and with that “I’m the migraine you had and I could come back at any moment” feeling. Bella was supposed to have a rare play date and I didn’t want to cancel.

I checked my email and C3 said her son had the sniffles (probably from allergies), but we could reschedule if I wanted. I sent back an email basically saying that was probably a good idea. 5 minutes later I sent her another email saying “You know what. Come on down. I can’t cancel yet another thing because of these headaches”. (She didn’t see either of these emails and was coming anyway, so it worked out for the best).

I did have to take muscle relaxers before she arrived and I admit she interacted with the kids a lot more than I did. But Bella had time with another kid her age, I got to spend time speaking with another adult (one I’m trying to help with her business), and the meltdowns were kept to a minimum.

I will definitely need to nap when Bella does, the neck pain is bad and I can’t take any more sumatriptan or muscle relaxers and I don’t want to take narcotics when I am Bella’s primary caregiver. So the migraine did affect some of my enjoyment with the visit, but I didn’t let it rule my life.

My migraine tried to thwart me, but it failed. I just wish the pain wasn’t still lingering.

About snarkysillysad
A former marketing professional with 15 years of experience in the technology industry. Through her blog she has shared her journey through pregnancy and motherhood as well as her struggle with migraines, depression, and chronic pain

3 Responses to Migraine = 1 : Me = 1

  1. Bill says:

    Miss? With ALL due respect, the next time you start feeling like a crappy parent, I’d like you to reread this post and realize from an outsider’s perspective that when you’re in searing agony your top priority is making your daughter’s playdate happen. You inspire me.

    • Aw shucks. I just feel like I let her down so much of the rest of the time. She barely ever sees other kids. It’s just not right. 😦

      • Christina says:

        You’d never know that she barely sees other kids. She’s outgoing and plays well with B. They had such a good time playing with the cars, playing hide and seek, and chasing each other. They did a great job interacting with each other. B has played with other kids and they just played next to each other. The only interaction was to grab the toy that the other one had. I know it would make you feel better, but she doesn’t NEED to see kids to interact well with them. That tells me that you’re definitely doing things right. In fact, that probably makes you a Super Mommy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

