Feeling like a Bad Mommy (UPDATED)

I have mentioned on here before that we’ve been having problems with Bella peeing through her diapers at night.  See https://snarkysillysad.wordpress.com/2012/08/13/a-simple-gift/

Well, her rash just wasn’t getting any better and I was starting to get concerned. A friend in a Mom’s group I run suggested that maybe Bella had a yeast diaper rash. Huh? I’d never even heard of the thing. She told me I could google pictures, but that they weren’t pretty. I looked at some images and 95% of them were horrible, but there were some that looked a little like what was happening to Bella.

So I dropped Doc T a line with one of the shots from online and asked her what she thought. She told me to look for white pustules around the edges and if they were present, it probably was a yeast diaper rash. Lo and behold, there they were. It wasn’t the diapers. I could have treated Bella with every cream under the sun, what she needed was antibiotic cream.

Doc T was kind enough to call some cream in and I ran out in my jammies to pick it up so I could start the medicine this morning. Around 5 am though, Bella started crying. I went to her room and opened the door and she was standing there saying “Mommy. I Itchy”. My heart just sank. I asked her if she’d go back to bed if I stayed with her and she agreed.

7am and the first dose of medicine went on. I really hope it acts quickly. Bella has had about 90 minutes of naked time this morning and will spend all afternoon naked as per Doc T’s orders.

I feel like such a bad mommy though. I always swore I wouldn’t be one of those mommies who flys off the handle if their kid scrapes their knee or something, but now my daughter is in serious discomfort and it’s my fault.

Mommy guilt is a very strong thing. It’ll take me a while to recover from this one.

UPDATE: My friend from my Mom’s group also recommended putting petroleum jelly on top of the medicine after applying so that the medicine doesn’t just rub off onto the diaper during naps and overnight.

About snarkysillysad
A former marketing professional with 15 years of experience in the technology industry. Through her blog she has shared her journey through pregnancy and motherhood as well as her struggle with migraines, depression, and chronic pain

One Response to Feeling like a Bad Mommy (UPDATED)

  1. Bill says:

    I forget who said this, but someone pointed out that being a parent is a lot about taking all the blame for things that go wrong for your kids that are completely out of your control, while not knowing if you should take any credit for when something goes well. From where I’m standing, you’re hitting them out of the park on a daily basis. Hope things turn out okay.

Leave a Reply

