Let’s Spend the Night Together

Last night was a disaster from beginning to end. R tried to put Bella down for bed around 8:15pm and she promptly started screaming bloody murder. She doesn’t do this all that often but usually if you let her go for a few minutes she calms down and falls asleep. Oh, how naive I was.

Eventually I tell R and the Professor to go out to the pool as planned and I’ll go sit with her for a while. I opened her door and guess who was standing there? Dammit, she’d pulled a Houdini again and escaped from her crib. We snuggled on her chair for 20 or 30 minutes and then I went to put her in her crib. All hell broke loose. It was like a demon was trying to be expelled from her body whenever she touched the mattress. I closed the door, left the room and went outside to let the boys know it wasn’t going well.

Easier Times

I steeled myself for the battle to come. I opened the door and “poof”, she’d pulled another Houdini and escaped the crib. This was definitely not going well.

I made the executive decision that in the name of safety, I was going to take down the 4th rail and convert the crib to a toddler bed. R came inside around this time and agreed with the decision and Bella just sat in the recliner as we dismantled the front piece of her crib and moved her mobile to another side. I then told her it was “seepy” time and tried to get her to lie down in the bed, which she did for about 10 seconds before I had to run out of the run closing the door behind me as her screams grew louder.

Eventually, I just gave up, opened the door and let her wander around while I finished up some online stuff and shut my computer down. During this time she wound up in our bedroom and I found her snuggled next to R. She was all comfy, but still quite awake. I took my nightly pills and joined them around 10:10pm. For the next 45 minutes we were stepped on, kicked, punched and mangled in any way possible. She managed to chase Chloe off the bed and just wouldn’t calm down.

R works 10 hour days four days a week, so around 11pm I decided to take her with me back to her room, close the door and sit with her in the recliner. We both fell asleep and I was able to finally move her into her crib around 1am and go back to bed myself. My neck was killing me and I took some muscle relaxers before I got settled in.

5:30am rolled around and R started getting ready for work and I could hear her making noise already. She’s been making noise for almost 90 minutes, but I refuse to go get her. Unless she starts getting really upset, she needs to stay in there.

So basically I had a horrible night, my back is killing me, I woke up with a migraine, my husband is exhausted and Bella is going to be a disaster today because she’ll be overtired.

She’s going to Nanni & Papa’s today whether she wants to or not.

Holy hell little girl, what are you trying to do to us?

About snarkysillysad
A former marketing professional with 15 years of experience in the technology industry. Through her blog she has shared her journey through pregnancy and motherhood as well as her struggle with migraines, depression, and chronic pain

Leave a Reply

