My Day in Pharmaceuticals

Pills, pills & more pills

I know lots of people with chronic pain take lots of pills. In comparison, I take rather few. That’s mostly because I’m in a period where nothing is really helping, but these medications allow me to function and care for my daughter. I will note that I have been severely slacking on my vitamin. I was on some antibiotics that made me nauseous and the vitamins are huge and I have problems swallowing large pills as it is. So here they are, in order from left to right…

  • Methocarbamol (muscle relaxer) – 750 mg x2 up to 3 times per day (trust me, I do all 3 times)
  • Excedrin Extra Strength (acetaminophen, aspirin & caffeine all considerately put into a single pill) – 2 to 4 of these daily to try to fend off the oncoming migraines that start with pain in the forehead area
  • Sumatriptan (generic for the migraine treatment imitrex) – 100 mg as needed. Usually once a day, sometimes more.
  • Sertraline (generic of the antidepressant zoloft) – 100 mg per day. I wanted to take more, but for some reason it made my anxiety shoot through the roof.
  • Singulair – 10 mg per day. Because allergies suck.
  • Wellbutrin XL (antidepressant) – 450 mg per day. I had one brief month when I first started taking it that I felt awesome, like the old me. Now I just combo it with the Wellbutrin so I can function.
  • Sprintec 28 (birth control) – Daily Pill. I am definitely in no shape to be either pregnant or a mother to 2 children at the moment.
  • Klonopin – 2mg as needed. At night to help me get to sleep or for freak anxiety attacks or social anxiety attacks.
  • Ventolin HFA Inhaler (not pictured) – 90 mcg as needed. If I actually exercise, my asthma acts up.
  • Oxycotin – 20 mg. My last ditch effort to kill the pain when I want to avoid a run to the emergency room. I rarely get to that point thankfully. Tylenol 3 with codeine and Vicodin no longer have any effect on my pain anymore.

Things I’ve been slacking on:

  • Vitamin D – 5000 IU per day (Vitamin D deficiency)
  • Vitamin B2 – 100 mg per day (headache prevention)
  • Magnesium – 500 mg per day (headache prevention)
  • Co Q 10 – 200 mg per day (cholesterol)
  • Red Yeast Rice – 1200 mg per day (cholesterol)

If any other migraine or depression sufferers come across this list and have some grand suggestions, please keep 2 things in mind:

  1. We can’t afford name-brand drugs, only the generics.
  2. These are other things I’ve already tried over the past decade or so (mostly for migraine prevention):
  • Propranolol (Inderal La, Innopran XL, others)
  • Verapamil (Calan, Verelan, others)
  • Amitriptyline
  • Nortriptyline (Pamelor)
  • Prozac
  • Topiramate (Topamax)
  • Lamotrigine (Lamictal)
  • Magnesium
  • B2
  • Cymbalta
  • Lyrica
  • Tizanidine ( Zanaflex)
  • Massage therapy
  • RFS

So that’s my day, trying to keep the pain at a manageable enough level that I can interact with my daughter and attempt to be creative once in a while. It’s an exhausting life, but there are so many out there so much worse off than me, I feel I have no right to complain, just inform.

As a side note, I do keep both a headache journal and a food journal and have been unable to find any food triggers at this time. Stress, heat and hormones definitely all contribute.

About snarkysillysad
A former marketing professional with 15 years of experience in the technology industry. Through her blog she has shared her journey through pregnancy and motherhood as well as her struggle with migraines, depression, and chronic pain

Leave a Reply

