Job Hunting (A Rant)

I’ve been out of work for 2.5 years. I’ll admit, I definitely wasn’t looking for work the first year because I lost my job when I was 3 months pregnant. I enjoyed the next 6 months of my pregnancy and then had a wonderful time bonding with my daughter (even with her attempts to kill me through sleep deprivation).

Slowly I began to research the state of the job market. This was in the beginning of 2011 and it sucked. It especially sucked when you are a marketing professional with 15 years experience and the first thing most companies cut is their marketing budget. I sent out resumes here and there, but was grateful for the unemployment I was receiving.

As with other times I had been job hunting, several trends emerged that annoyed the shit out of me:

  • Companies that only want applicants with MBAs. I’m sorry, while those MBA candidates were sitting in classrooms, I was getting real-world experience. I would think that would be more valuable, but I guess I’m confused or something.
  • Companies that want a marketing professional who also happens to be an engineer or have a scientific background. This ain’t gonna happen. Sure lots of people change careers several times over their lifetime but to expect to find someone who was a proficient engineer or scientist and decided to “give marketing a try” is expecting a bit much. Again, maybe I’m just missing something.
  • Companies that list jobs that don’t actually exist. I’ve worked for these companies and I understand. Your Board of Directors or Investors wants to see that you are actively seeking a certain number of employees whether it’s legit or not. But I hate finding a job that sounds awesome, applying, not hearing anything and  then seeing it on job boards for months on end. Don’t tell me they can’t find a suitable candidate in that time, it’s just a phantom job.
  • Companies that want you to work “part-time” but expect you to perform the work load of a full-time employee. I get it, you don’t want to pay health insurance. Here’s my response, “You suck and should rot in hell”.
  • Companies that put up a job listing and when they provide the list of expected responsibilities, it’s a mile-fucking-long. I know times are tough and some positions need to be consolidated, but you’ve got to be kidding me. I can spot right away the jobs that used to be performed by 3 people and now will be performed by 1. It’s a recipe for failure.
  • Having to use a unique online application program for every other company. Copying and pasting content from my resume into fields in some form over and over again. I miss the days when people posted jobs on Monster or CareerBuilder and you applied through their site and that was it.
  • Looking to hire a marketing professional who also happens to know how to do graphic design and html, java and CSS. That’s absurd. You need a marketing professional to MANAGE a web developer who specializes in coding. Otherwise you get both a less than stellar marketer and a less than stellar designer. I happen to know graphic design and some web coding, but I wouldn’t purport myself to be an expert in either. I get done what I need to, but have had people working for me with phenomenal design and coding skills better suited for that work.

But I keep sending resumes out. I’ve even had an interview and a few call backs. But I’m not very hopeful. After the flop of the economy, I’ll never make the kind of money I made before and I now would have the additional expense of child care. So the resumes go out, but the fuel to work for myself and my friends starts to burn brighter every day. I know it will be difficult, but at least I have reasonable expectations for myself. Plus, I would highly recommend me to myself as an exemplary employee.

About snarkysillysad
A former marketing professional with 15 years of experience in the technology industry. Through her blog she has shared her journey through pregnancy and motherhood as well as her struggle with migraines, depression, and chronic pain

7 Responses to Job Hunting (A Rant)

  1. Christina says:

    I’m happy for you that the fire is burning brighter. You are a smart woman & I have no doubt that you will be successful.

  2. I love your rant… My favorite thing about job hunting is the phantom jobs. I also love companies that think someone is over qualified… If the person didn’t need the job they surely wouldn’t be applying for it. Keep on ranting and good luck!

    • Thanks Julie, I just keep trucking along. It’s all I can do.

    • Hey Doc, any experience with Chronic Lyme disease? I know it’s not that prevalent in your area.

      • Unfortunately Lyme’s disease is a global epidemic. So yes I have worked with many Lyme’s patients. More people have it than they realize and people are not be tested properly for it especially here.

      • Not sure if you received my comment, if so disregard this one. Unfortunately Lyme’s disease is a global epidemic. So yes we see Lyme’s disease. Most people don’t know that they have it because they weren’t diagnosed properly with the correct test. I usually offer alternative treatments.

Leave a Reply

