Positive Thinking vs. The Writer’s Creed

If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all. That statement usually refers to speaking about other people, but I find it’s a good idea for life in general. As someone who spent way too much of their life bitching, complaining and moaning… I have recently decided to try to only put positive energy and positive thoughts out in the world. This doesn’t mean I am personally always in a positive place, but when you focus on the positive in life and try to only share things that are positive, you’re more apt to notice the good things in life.

But a writer must write. And therein lies the problem. I know that I need to write, but there’s nothing cheerful coming out of this keyboard these days. I have had one medical issue after another, some ongoing for quite some time and I continue to be in a very dark place. This means I don’t communicate at all. No FB posts, no blog posts, no twitter updates. I re post silly pictures I see elsewhere and that’s the extent of my “communication” with the outside world right now.

I know that eventually all of the medical problems will be solved and I am trying to focus on that. But in the meantime, I am in constant emotional and physical pain and I’m exhausted from the whole thing. R is tired of it too, I have definitely not been a fun spouse as of late.

Hopefully today will have less pain than yesterday (my strained pectoral muscle and shoulder will start to heal again so it doesn’t hurt when I cough, sneeze or breathe hard). I will start another medicine tonight for the ongoing medical annoyance that has been making me miserable for almost 4 weeks now. And once those 2 issues are out of the way, the next item will be finding the appropriate antidepressant.

My birthday is in 4 weeks and we’re having a party to kick-start the summer party season. I don’t think it’s too much to ask of the universe to have these short-term medical conditions fixed by then. The thought that they may be is one of the only things keeping me going sometimes.

More positive stuff coming soon, I promise…

About snarkysillysad
A former marketing professional with 15 years of experience in the technology industry. Through her blog she has shared her journey through pregnancy and motherhood as well as her struggle with migraines, depression, and chronic pain

Leave a Reply

