ebay Y U No Make Sense?

If R and I want to go anywhere with Bella, we have to take my car because that’s where the car seat is. We wanted to have a really good car seat since she’ll be using it for a long time, and we paid over $200 for the one we have.

We’d love to have a 2nd seat for R’s Jeep Grand Cherokee in case we do something where we need more room than my Jetta provides, but we can’t really afford to spend another $200 on something that won’t be used all that often. And we’d rather not skimp and get a cheap car seat because it won’t offer the same safety features (for our most precious of cargo).

What to do? I decided I’d look on ebay for a possible back-up seat. I was pleasantly surprised to find many overstocks of the SAME seat we’d bought for my car. And they were cheap too, only about $50-60.

So I placed some bids and waited to see what happened. And what happened is one of the dumbest things I’ve ever seen. People kept bidding. And bidding. And bidding. And eventually that awesome car seat that I had bought for about $220 and had bid on for $60 was now OVER $200 and STILL RISING.

WTF people? The way the bidding was going, not only would people not be saving any money on these car seats (I wound up bidding on multiple listings), but they would be paying even MORE than if they’d just bought the thing outright on Amazon or at Babies ‘r Us.

I just don’t understand, my brain can’t comprehend why people would buy things on ebay for a greater price than they could purchase it from a store. R thinks it’s because they don’t know the actual value of the items, I think it’s just because people are idiotic.

About snarkysillysad
A former marketing professional with 15 years of experience in the technology industry. Through her blog she has shared her journey through pregnancy and motherhood as well as her struggle with migraines, depression, and chronic pain

Leave a Reply

