Random Thoughts on April 28th

  • I had a great time at my birthday party on Saturday. The weather was unexpectedly good and we were even able to have a campfire at night. So many people drove a long way just to be there, it made me feel very special.
  • My SIL came down for the party, it was very nice to see her. I really wish she lived closer, Bella loves being with her. She’s probably the only person on R’s side she’ll ever have a decent relationship with.
  • Am I wrong to think it was inappropriate for the person who got drunk while pregnant at my baby shower to give me alcohol as a birthday present?
  • My Mom just called to confirm that she’s getting tickets for the two of us to go to a Phillies-Red Sox game on June 28th. R is going to a game with his Dad and brother at some point this summer, so Mom and I are gonna have a girl’s night out. It’s her birthday present to me.
  • Technical support for my brother yesterday was done in under 20 minutes – woohoo, it’s a record!
  • It’s been unnaturally warm the past 4 or 5 days. We’ve had to turn the A/C on because our house warms up so quickly. We had dinner at my folk’s place on Easter/My Birthday and when we got home, it was 83 degrees in the house (warmer than it was outside). Dad is gonna work with our contractor to see about putting an attic fan in. Side note: the A/C in the wall in the living room is still having problems with freezing up.
  • Dropped off the amended building permit application yesterday, hopefully it gets approved. The contractor is supposedly going to start the deck project the 3rd week of May.
  • Bella’s room is pretty bad temperature-wise. We’ll probably be getting a small A/C for it. We keep leaving her door open which means she’s exposed to a lot more ambient noise.
  • After a bad week, Bella again slept through the night last night. She hasn’t been as fussy today as she was in days past either. Fingers crossed.
  • Bella has tried all the foods that are typically jarred by themselves (barring bananas) with no reaction. So, I’m comfortable offering her anything age-appropriate that can be made into the proper consistency and doesn’t contain added spices, artificial sweeteners or preservatives.
  • After yesterday, I have a strong suspicion that Bella is allergic to cut grass. We went over my folks and my Dad had just finished mowing their lawn. Bella sneezed quite a bit. She’s also been rubbing her nose on my shirt a lot, though the red cheeks she had on Saturday have gone away.
  • I’m nervous to say anything and jinx it, but since T and I upped my verapamil, things have been better. I haven’t had a migraine since Friday. Fingers crossed.
  • It’s almost time for Nemo to go to the groomers again. He’s grown out since he got that drastic cut in February. Lou the cat needs a good brushing too. Too many fur tumbleweeds in the house.
  • R and I got the School House Rocks DVD for Bella for when she is a little older
  • I got some beautiful flowers from R (via my folks), S and T for my birthday. Looking at them today made me smile. 🙂
About snarkysillysad
A former marketing professional with 15 years of experience in the technology industry. Through her blog she has shared her journey through pregnancy and motherhood as well as her struggle with migraines, depression, and chronic pain

One Response to Random Thoughts on April 28th

  1. icanhasdiary says:

    I’m so happy you had a nice birthday! And also… my fingers are crossed very tightly on the migraine front. Here’s to many more days without the M word making an appearance.
    That’s so weird about the pregnant drinker giving you booze for your birthday. Sometimes I wonder what the hell goes on in some people’s heads, for real.

Leave a Reply

