Random Thoughts on March 21st

  • A rainy day like today is perfect for napping in my opinion, but napping has been the last thing on Bella’s mind for the past 24 hours. She managed to almost turn herself over while down for a nap and swaddled on Saturday, so we decided that for safety’s sake, she would be unswaddled from now on. The nights have been better than I expected, but she basically didn’t nap at all yesterday. I will try harder to get her to nap while unswaddled today. I could use a nap too since she refused to go back to sleep after nursing at 5am.
  • My folks rock! I had gone high chair price shopping with my Mom last week when she was getting Bella some new clothes. She and my Dad showed up on Friday with the high chair I wanted. It attaches to a chair vs. free-standing and can be used through the toddler years. Bella has her 6 month check-up on April 1st and will be starting solids that weekend, so now we’re all ready to go.
  • My folks rock Part II! They were over on Friday so my Dad could meet with the guy who built his garage and we were getting a quote from to build a permanent roof over our deck since the temporary solutions we’ve been using have been failures. My folks are providing us with a “home equity loan” (they bought our house in cash and we pay them a mortgage) to get the roof for the deck and it sounds like we may possibly get the entire roof replaced since it’s about to hit end of life.
  • My in-laws rock! My MIL, FIL and SIL drove all the way down here (3 hours) to visit us on Friday. We had a nice dinner and my SIL and MIL gave Bella her bath and read to her before bed. Then we had a nice breakfast Saturday morning before they went off to see my BIL and his family. I wish the visit had been longer, but I’m just grateful that Bella was able to spend time with them.
  • My hubby rocks! R did a boatload of laundry yesterday while I was walking at the park and grocery shopping with Bella. He’s also been great about getting involved in our new nighttime ritual for Bella by helping with her bath and reading to her before I feed her and put her down.
  • Nemo is pushing my buttons. On Saturday, instead of playing his “I won’t go outside until I get belly rubs” game, he decided to stand right in front of me on the couch and begin peeing on the brand new area rug. I stopped him quickly, tossed him outside and cleaned up the small amount of pee he got onto the carpet, but I was furious with him. Chloe is very good about going to the back door and whining when she needs to go out. Nemo just jogs around the house, which is no different from the way he acts when imaginary or real noises get him worked up.
  • All the people I used to hang out with at the dog park were there on Saturday and one of them posted pictures online. I miss those days of going to the park with the dogs, I’m hoping to get back there soon, but things are a little complicated because there is a dog (and his owner) that I need to avoid with Nemo and he’s frequently there when my friends are. I might start going to one of the 2 other dog parks that some of them go to but the problematic dog doesn’t.
  • I could care less about March Madness. I’m irritated it means I don’t get new CSI episodes and other shows I watch go into repeat as well. grrrr.
  • I took Bella with me when I went grocery shopping yesterday and she was MUCH better than the last time she was with me there. I think she was overwhelmed the last time, this time she was just fascinated by all the stuff and doing her damnedest to be adorable and have strangers comment on how cute she is.
  • Oh, I did have a bad patch of migraines this past weekend. I wound up needing to take sumatriptan once each day on Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Hopefully today will be better.
About snarkysillysad
A former marketing professional with 15 years of experience in the technology industry. Through her blog she has shared her journey through pregnancy and motherhood as well as her struggle with migraines, depression, and chronic pain

2 Responses to Random Thoughts on March 21st

  1. Icanhasdiary says:

    I just got some sumatriptan, myself. Knock on wood, I haven’t had to use it yet, but I’m hoping it will help b/c DAMN. When those migraines hit, it’s like everything else just stops because it HAS TO. And I don’t get them as frequently/severely as you do, so i can only imagine how you feel. Keep fighting the good fight!

    Wow, your parents DO rock! Have fun getting a deck cover. I was stupidly excited about covering my porch last year, and I still look at it and smile. It might seem like a little thing, but a covered porch/deck is amazing. (I think so, anyway!)

    So, do you think Nemo is acting up for attention, now that Bella is here? It kind of sounds like it. Sweet dogs don’t get nasty or jealous; they just get goofy and annoying in their quest for our attention. Oy. I don’t envy you on this one. As hard as it would be to do this, the next time he pees in front of you, try to act like you don’t even see it or care. If he gets no reaction, maybe it’ll make a difference? (You can clean the mess up as soon as you can, but yelling & stopping him gives him attention, so the key is to make it so he gets no reward for that behavior.)
    You could also try beating him.
    Heh. 😉

    • Sumatriptan is awesome, but popping it once a day is not cool, especially with how insurance likes to limit how much you can get per month.

      I know the PA sun doesn’t compare to the AZ sun, but our backyard gets direct, blinding sun from about lunchtime until the sun goes down, without a cover on the deck, it’s basically unusable.

      Nemo is a pain in the ass, but he’s a rescue, so you have to cut him some slack. Letting him pee is not an option, he let maybe a tablespoon or two get out before I stopped him, but this is a dog who has been known to regularly hold his bladder for 14 HOURS… when he finally goes, it’s a considerable amount. He’s been better the past few days. We had a thunderstorm last night and I was in the kitchen making R’s lunch and he came cowering next to me and I bent down and hugged him and told him it would be alright. He’s seemed a bit less neurotic since then. We’ll see what tomorrow brings.

Leave a Reply

