Screaming in the Night

(And no, I don’t mean the song by Krokus)

Now that Bella is 5 months old, she’s spending longer stretches awake and the two of us are attempting to consolidate her naps into 2 big ones. But, she’s always been a fussy baby in the evenings and by the time 8:30 rolled around last night, she was heading towards 4 hours awake and she was being a fussy little terror. So I “topped her up” and put her to bed.

R closed up the house and got his stuff out for today and then we headed to bed around 9pm (I know, I know, heading to bed around 9pm is really sad, but R reads for a little while and honestly, by that time, I’m exhausted from Bella).

I was so tired I fell asleep while he was still reading, but I woke up with a start when Bella started screaming around 9:45. I went into her room and thought I would just put her binkie back in her mouth… I soon learned it wasn’t going to be that easy.

Bella has only been in her crib for a week or so, so she is still swaddled so she’s cozy and not flipping and flopping all over the place. This means her arms are basically plastered to her sides, but there’s room for her legs to move and boy, were they moving. She was kicking like crazy and wanted nothing to do with her binkie. She just kept screaming.

I was still half asleep so I walked back into the bedroom and told R I didn’t know what to do. He got up and spent 30 minutes trying to calm her down without much success. He kinda got her asleep once, but when he tried to put her down in the crib, she started screaming again. So, eventually, I got back up, re-swaddled her and fed her (even though it hadn’t even been 2 hours since she last ate). She fell asleep nursing and I was able to put her in her crib around 10:15 I think.

She then slept through until 3am, which is the longest patch she’s done in a while. I wish I knew what set her off at 9:45. This has happened a few times at 1am and I wonder if she has nightmares or something. She seems to be in good spirits today, so we’ll see how the day goes.

About snarkysillysad
A former marketing professional with 15 years of experience in the technology industry. Through her blog she has shared her journey through pregnancy and motherhood as well as her struggle with migraines, depression, and chronic pain

Leave a Reply

