Here We Go Again…

So I got an email from T last night and she finally got the rest of my blood work back… no thyroid issues. Most people would be happy about that, but T and I were kinda hoping there might be some slight thyroid problem that could be easily remedied and solve the migraine issue. No such luck. So, I can no longer procrastinate and I need to start taking the course of medicine we’ve decided I will use for prophylactic migraine prevention. I’ll start the amitriptylene tonight, I don’t mind that, it’s the verapamil I’m worried about. I’ve taken it before and it doesn’t do kind things to me. I admit I was taking the 240mg extended release pills, but if I took them any other time other than bedtime, I couldn’t function because my blood pressure dropped so low. I can’t afford to have that problem now that I’m a mother. So, T is starting me off slow, 40mg 3x a day. We’ll see how it goes, I just took my first dose.

It was an interesting night with Bella. She spent a lot of the evening asleep in my lap. She woke up a little and I topped her off around 10pm. I tried to put her in the crib unswaddled (she naps unswaddled, but has spent all her night swaddled since starting the crib last weekend). That didn’t work. Amazingly though, I swaddled her, laid her back down and she went right to sleep, no fussing or screaming. She only stayed down until 11:45pm and I feared it was going to be another night like the one before. She was up at 12:45 and I tried to simply put the binkie back in her mouth, but had no success. So I went to the bathroom and let her scream for about 2 minutes. When I came back and put her binkie in again, she fell right to sleep. This had woken up R, but he managed to get back to sleep. Then came 3:45. I fed Bella and tried to put her back down, but she wasn’t having it. I fought with her for 10 minutes and then decided it was R’s turn. He was up with her for an hour but finally got her back to sleep around 5am and came back to bed. It’s 7am now, we’re both up and I think Bella is just starting to stir. I’ll give her the 1/2 prevacid dose and then keep her occupied for 20 minutes until I can feed her.

The Professor and K are coming over tonight. The Professor’s birthday is tomorrow and we’re going to grill up some lamb tonight. I’m going to attempt to make a red velvet cheesecake for dessert.

We need to get a card out today for my  “Good SIL”, her birthday is Monday. We’re hoping to see her in the next few weeks when my MIL comes to visit after she gets back from her missionary trip to Nicaragua.

Here’s hoping Bella and everyone else has a good day today. My day has started without a migraine, so there’s always hope.

About snarkysillysad
A former marketing professional with 15 years of experience in the technology industry. Through her blog she has shared her journey through pregnancy and motherhood as well as her struggle with migraines, depression, and chronic pain

Leave a Reply

