Medication Roulette

So, I had my appointment at the Jefferson Headache Center this morning. The neurologist is convinced the migraines are so consistent because they’re rebounds from too much medicine, so she wants to break the cycle with a steroid, some compazine and an older migraine med called migranal. I’ll take these for 3-5 days and see if it breaks the cycle. If not, I have to go back and see her in 4 weeks when I have my period again so she can do some “infusion” treatment.

Other than breaking the cycle, she isn’t going to have my do anything new other than starting to take magnesium oxide. I took it before but didn’t notice an improvement. I’ll give it a try. Other than that, she’s going to rely on the antidepressant meds that T put me on for preventive uses. These meds still haven’t helped with my anxiety or concentration issues, but I’m not taking that high of a dosage yet.

I have my website review in about 45 minutes… it’s going to be a disaster, but at least it’s one step closer to the end. Creative Services got a little backed up and didn’t get to finish most of the flash they were working on, so we’ll need one last week for that to get completed before the website can go live.

Going to Jefferson always gives me a migraine. I took a little codeine, but I can’t take any axert if I will be taking migranal tomorrow.

My folks were down yesterday for the inspection of the house they’re buying, it looks like this is really happening. It’s a nice house, but needs some things done to it. It’s only 10 minutes from where I live now. They stuck around for dinner and R threw together a wonderful leg of lamb feast on short notice.

Today R is helping our friend with some contractors that are visiting his Dad’s place to give estimates for roofing and landscaping work. They’ll be there again tomorrow and then on Friday R has to babysit his niece for like 5 hours. At some point in the next week we need to buy a Christmas Tree. All the other decorations are up, we just need to find a tree when the weather isn’t crappy.

Well, off to prep for the meeting…

About snarkysillysad
A former marketing professional with 15 years of experience in the technology industry. Through her blog she has shared her journey through pregnancy and motherhood as well as her struggle with migraines, depression, and chronic pain

2 Responses to Medication Roulette

  1. Brenda says:

    I am having the same problem with my migraines, and it sounds as if I’m going through exactly the same treatment as you- (at least at the point of this post). Can you let me know if you’ve found a solution? I have a headache nearly every single day. I’m on Migranal and Gabapentin. Thanks.

    • If you’re getting a headache nearly every single day and taking ibuprofen, acetaminophen, migranal, codeine, etc. every day or almost every day, it may be rebound headaches. They hypothesize the best way to break the cycle is with steroids, though my GP tried 10 days of prednisone and it didn’t work, the neuro is having me try a different steroid for 3 days in combination with the companzine and migranal. I’m not going to start the regimen until Saturday because of some of the possible side effects. I have had great success in the past taking preventatives like blood pressure meds used in combination with antidepressants, some anti-seizure meds and some anti inflammatories. My problem is that I always develop a tolerance and the medicine stops working, but sometimes I can make it for 2 years before that happens, other times it only takes 6 weeks.

Leave a Reply

