To sleep perchance to dream

I can’t remember the last time I had a decent night’s sleep. Probably before we brought Chloe home at the end of September. For such a tiny dog (30 pounds), she takes up an awful lot of space in the bed. She’s very skinny and all leg and LOVES to stretch out. She usually hangs out by my feet, but frequent moves her way up during the night and winds up between R and me. It’s only a queen sized bed and I swear I sleep on the edge half the time.

It’s not like it’s all Chloe’s fault though. I need to stop drinking any liquids in the evening, because I keep having to get up to pee 2 or more times during the early morning hours.

But I’ll still have all my lovely anxiety to wake me up. Worrying about this and that, mostly things out of my control and I wind up laying in bed staring at the ceiling for an hour before I give up and head downstairs.

I fall asleep fast enough. I suspect the codeine helps with that. But R says I’ve been snoring REALLY loudly the past week or so and I suspect my sleep apnea is probably acting up. I’m supposed to use one of those machines, but I refuse.

The neck has been pretty bad all day today. I was lucky yesterday, my neck didn’t start hurting until I got in the car to head home. I took a single codeine last night and was comfortable enough for the evening. But today, the codeine is not helping. I just took a second one only 3 hours after the first and it’s not doing much of anything. I may have to dip into the imitrex stash. It’s maddening how all the pain starts in my neck, but the muscle relaxers don’t do anything to help with the pain. Maybe if I double up and take 2 cyclobenzaprene it’ll help. Problem is, if it doesn’t and I have to take imitrex, I’m done…. that combo knocks me on my ass for some reason.

So, R got out of the house today and ran a bunch of errands. He was leaving Walmart and the SIL called and it sounds like she’s going into labor. She wasn’t supposed to deliver for another 7 weeks, this is not good. I don’t know the whole story. I don’t know if the baby is coming for sure or if there’s anything they can do to stop it, but I heard she was headed for labor and delivery. The niece got dropped off with R and he’ll keep her amused until I get home. Depending on what happens, I wouldn’t be completely surprised if she winds up staying with us tonight. We’ll see what happens. I don’t think the SIL will be coming home regardless. If they manage to stop labor, I suspect she’ll be admitted until she delivers.

Still working on the website at work. Working on one of the final parts now. Hoping to get done with it this afternoon but am having problems concentrating with the neck pain. I’ll try to work through it.

Here’s hoping the SIL and my unborn nephew are ok.

About snarkysillysad
A former marketing professional with 15 years of experience in the technology industry. Through her blog she has shared her journey through pregnancy and motherhood as well as her struggle with migraines, depression, and chronic pain

2 Responses to To sleep perchance to dream

  1. icanhasdiary says:

    I’ll be thinking good thoughts for you SIL and the baby! The fortunate thing is that newborn care for preemies has gotten SO advanced and the doctors will know what to do if he does happen to come a little early. I was almost 5 weeks early (and that was 34 years ago), and look at me! I’m perfectly norm– umm, on second thought, *maybe* I’m not the best example. Hee hee. 🙂

    Plus, it could be false labor, too. Either way, it probably won’t turn out badly. I just have a feeling.

    I’m sure you’ve covered this base, but you definitely don’t have any issues with the bones in your neck, right? It really sounds like you have a pinched nerve that’s setting off the headaches. Whatever it is, I hope you feel better soon.

    Oh, and check this out! It could be an alternative to that sleep apnea breathing machine. http://www.news-medical.net/news/20091013/Brookstone-launches-anti-snore-pillow.aspx

    Good luck, comrade.

  2. SIL is fine. She and the baby had really high blood pressure, but they were able to lower it, stop the contractions and send her home… so he gets to hang out in Mommy and let his lungs develop a little bit longer. Thanks for your concern.

    I’ve had all sorts of xrays, cat scans, MRIs, EEGs, etc. and there’s no physical cause they can truly point to. Yes, the muscles in my neck get tense and pinch the nerve and it grows into a migraine, but the muscle relaxers don’t do squat and when I have the right medication combo, it’s not a problem. Who knows. Less than a week until I get to go to Jefferson and see my neurologist again.

Leave a Reply

