4pm Brain Drain

I don’t understand why every day when it hits 4pm, my brain just ceases to function. Doesn’t matter what I’m doing, all of a sudden I’ll find myself having problems concentrating and lo and behold, it’ll be 4pm. I HAD been making some good progress on some website stuff up until now. sigh.

I had a bad meeting with the boss yesterday, the kind of meeting that almost makes you fear for your job. He was not happy about the website at all… but he kept flip-flopping. He didn’t like it, but then loved parts (basically, the parts I wrote myself with no input from anyone else were the parts he wound up liking best). But the main product pages which have been written by committee to some degree weren’t making him happy.

I suggested some updates near the end of the meeting which he didn’t seem too enthused about, but when I emailed him examples of what I meant this morning he replied “now you’re thinking like a marketer”… I then flip-flopped back and forth between being relieved and irritated.

In any event, I had been working all day on what we talked about, but it hit 4pm and my motivation and creative juices seem to have evaporated all of a sudden. I need to force myself to keep working until 6pm and get some more of this done. I’ll finish in the morning and review when my mind is fresh.

Not much else going on here. Went out to Starbucks in the late afternoon to catch up with a co-worker I haven’t seen much lately. R was busy with lawn maintenance today, he finally raked up all the leaves and threw them on top of the garden. At some point I’ll help him run them through the mulcher, but for now I’m just glad they’re not making our yard look so terrible or masking hidden dog turds.

Neck was bugging me a bit earlier today so I took a codeine when over-the-counter stuff failed to relieve the tension. I feel OK now I suppose. Neck is still tight, but it doesn’t hurt much.

No plans for the evening. R will probably want to watch the presidential address, so I’ll catch up on some of my silly entertainment magazines I suppose. Just looking forward to being home in comfortable clothes and relaxing.

About snarkysillysad
A former marketing professional with 15 years of experience in the technology industry. Through her blog she has shared her journey through pregnancy and motherhood as well as her struggle with migraines, depression, and chronic pain

2 Responses to 4pm Brain Drain

  1. icanhasdiary says:

    Ugh, it blows when the creative juices dry up when you most need them! Your boss sounds like one I had at my last job… but he was the kind of guy who would give me notes, I’d write exactly what he said on the website, and he’d flare up and say dumb stuff like, “No, we don’t want to say THAT! I’ve changed my mind about how we want to present this!” and I would always want to shake him and say, “Well, TELL ME when you change your mind, you idiot!” It was so dumb, dealing with a guy like that. And oddly enough, he did like the things I added on my own most of the time, too.

    Is “now you;re thinking like a marketer” a compliment or a passive aggressive dig at you? I hope it’s a pure compliment. I’m just hyper aware of statements like that, veiling possible criticism. (Like your work up until now hasn’t been marketer-worthy or something…?) I don’t mean to start you thinking in a negative direction, so I really am sorry if that’s what I’ve done. Eek. 😦

    Maybe sometime we should do each other’s jobs for certain projects we need help with. Meaning, if you’re stuck on a web page, send it to me and maybe I could finish it. Or I could have you help me come up with headlines for my articles. We can be each other’s ghostwriter/editor. No one has to know but us. Heh heh.

    I hope you had the relaxing night you wanted! Yay for relaxin’!!!

    • Yeah, my boss keeps changing his mind, which is hwy this project has dragged on for over a year when I could have a website built in 4 weeks soup to nuts at my last job.

      Well, I don’t feel like I’ve been doing the best job lately with the migraines and depression handicapping my skills, so I take everything as a dig and it all makes me even more anxious. grr.

      I’m all for trading jobs… I’ll keep my mouth shut if you do and no one will be the wiser. 😉

      Last night was OK…. Chloe kept whining incessantly to go outside because she’d been stuck inside while R was outside most of the afternoon raking leaves. I know he’s been outside today, won’t tell me what he’s doing, I suspect Xmas decorating… hopefully she won’t be a basket case again tonight. I love her, she’s wonderful and affectionate, but she’s still a puppy and really hyper sometimes.

Leave a Reply

