Here we go again

So a co-worker  uttered the most logical thing when I mentioned I had yet another migraine today. “Maybe you need to see your doctor.” Wow, what a novel idea? Seriously, I had been avoiding this because I was afraid of where it would go. But I have had migraines every single day for 3 weeks now, so it was unavoidable.

The one today didn’t respond to imitrex, so I decided to call my GP and they said they could squeeze me in this afternoon. I left work early because my head was killing me and came home and laid down for about an hour before R drove me to the appointment.

The doc decided to put me on a course of prednisone to break the headache cycle, prescribed some more migraine meds and some muscle relaxers and wrote a referral for me to try going to the Jefferson Headache Clinic again. We’ll see. I was going there 2 years ago when they prescribed the medicine that started giving me an ulcer and I decided to go with an alternative treatment. The RFS seemed to work pretty well in the beginning and for the first time in 8 years I was able to stop taking daily medications to prevent migraines. But slowly it seems as though the effects have been wearing off until lately I was right back to where I started 10 years ago.

So, we’re going to play medication roulette again to see what will best help prevent my migraines, except this time I need to make sure they’re things that are safe in case I get pregnant. I have to call Jefferson and make an appointment some time soon, which means I’ll be using up yet more of my piddly vacation time I had tried to amass for the holidays. Oh well, what can you do. If I can get my depression and migraines under control, I might actually be a pleasant person to be around again.

This weekend was fairly quiet. Friday night I had dinner with R and a friend and then we watched some TV. I had taken codeine for a migraine earlier in the day, so I was actually ready for bed by just after 10pm.

I took the dogs to the park on Saturday. It wasn’t raining like I had expected, but the ground was very muddy. Not too many people were there but the dogs ran around and had a great time. Saturday afternoon I just sat around. I got a migraine at some point, but I took imitrex and it worked pretty well and R and I cleaned some stuff off the DVR that night.

Sunday was beautiful. The dog park was absolutely packed and we were there for over 2 hours. It was really nice being outside and enjoying the sun. After the dog park, I came home and showered and then watched the Steelers and Eagles games. Our friend came over with some pork chops and we had dinner and watched the Fox Animation Domination. I got a migraine late in the afternoon, but the imitrex killed it and I was able to enjoy the evening.

I felt ok this morning, so I got on the treadmill and walked 2 miles. It probably contributed a little to the migraine I got mid morning, but I needed to get some exercise in.

Now I’m just enjoying the lovely afterglow of oxycodone and this brief bit of time without pain. Will probably just watch a little TV tonight and hope that tomorrow goes better.

About snarkysillysad
A former marketing professional with 15 years of experience in the technology industry. Through her blog she has shared her journey through pregnancy and motherhood as well as her struggle with migraines, depression, and chronic pain

One Response to Here we go again

  1. Lisa says:

    I really hope that you can get to the bottom of things and find a medication (or combination of meds) that will work again for you. Headaches are just debilitating. And to get them all the time is just unbearable. At least you are still trying to do things and you have a good attitude about fixing the problem. Some people just whine and never do anything about the problem. Not you! You’re moving ahead and it WILL get better.

Leave a Reply

