Zed’s dead baby (well not really, but he’s pushing his luck pretty hard)

Zed

Zed is not amused

Zed can be an exceptionally loving kitty. He’d be content to sit in R’s lap and be petted for hours. He can also be a vindictive asshole. I don’t know what his problem is and I don’t know what sets him off, but something irritated him last night and he exacted his revenge in the usual fashion… with urine.

First off, his litter box is clean (there are actually 2 of them and he and Lou have decided to pee in one and poo in the other). He’s also in fine health (physically). But when he gets angry, he lets us know with urine. Every once in a while we’ll find a “damp” pillow on the futons downstairs. We learned a while ago not to leave anything sitting on counters or tables, because he’s an equal opportunity pisser… towels, jackets, hats… it doesn’t matter to Zed, he’ll piss on them all. It does help us keep the place picked up, that’s for sure.

Zed never peed when we lived in the apartment, but since we moved into the house, it’s been a constant battle. The worst was the first major incident… he peed all over our brand new couches the morning of the Superbowl. They still don’t smell right. We’ve had them professionally cleaned and used entire bottles of urine-b-gone type sprays and the urine odor still wafts out from beneath the cushions every once in a while.

Well, last night he had a mighty bug up his ass because he did something he’s only done twice before. He peed ALL over R’s pillows in bed. I swear, he must have been saving it up for 3 days for the amount of urine we found on the bed. It soaked both pillows, the pillow with sham that sits in front of them, the comforter, the top sheet, the bottom sheet, the mattress pad and the 3″ foam cushion we use on top of the mattress. It was unreal how much urine there was. R put everything he could fit in the laundry last night and we had to find alternate sheets and comforters. We TRIED to put the egg crate from the guest room on our bed, but I discovered that he had shown his displeasure on that as well.

We threw Zed outside one time this summer after a pissing incident, but all he does is crawl under the deck and whine, which just irritates us more. He is on my last nerve right now. And I do make this pledge… if I ever manage to get myself pregnant and we have a child and Zed EVER pees on any of the baby’s things…. he’s gone. Outside, to a shelter or to a friend, but that’ll be the last straw.

Just to make this morning extra fun after last night’s disaster, Chloe decided she was going to run out the front door when I went to leave for work. It was raining, so that made it more fun. She’s home safe luckily. <sigh>

About snarkysillysad
A former marketing professional with 15 years of experience in the technology industry. Through her blog she has shared her journey through pregnancy and motherhood as well as her struggle with migraines, depression, and chronic pain

3 Responses to Zed’s dead baby (well not really, but he’s pushing his luck pretty hard)

  1. R says:

    Zed is free to a good home… I’ve had it with him, it’s time for him to move out.

  2. icanhasdiary says:

    I have to laugh, because I thought that this post would be about a baby (like a doll?) that is dead, which Zed keeps as his own. But now I see… Pulp Fiction reference… ah HA! 🙂

    Anyway, moving on to more serious stuff: this sucks so much. I’m sorry you guys are having so much trouble with him! I wish I had some kind of advice, but you’ve tried everything I would have thought of. So I will just be here as a sympathetic ear, and if I can offer any encouragement whatsoever, I promise I’ll try. In the meantime, I say it could be time to make him live outside for the most part. I don’t know. It’s a tough call.

    He might just be a cat that needs to be the ONLY pet. It would be cool if you could find someone who could take him and love on him and and only him… it’ll be hard, but it is possible to find someone that could be a better “fit”. (I went through this with Olive, and it took me MONTHS to finally accept this was probably not the home she needed, but it did happen…the right home DID come along and she is doing much better there.)

    Good luck! And Zed, you too: you’ve made your parents VERY angry, young man! (slap)

Leave a Reply

