A nice way to make the day seem better

It’s been a stressful day. Boss is breathing down my neck to get the new website done and up by Thanksgiving. Creative Services is going to try their best to help me achieve this goal, but of course the Director of Development is doing his best to try and throw a monkey-wrench in the works. It did force me to get a bunch of writing done this morning though, but it has raised my stress quotient quite a bit.

My work-mate Joan sent out an email around lunchtime that she was going to be collecting items to send to servicemen overseas. I thought about how we sent a bunch of stuff when I was at United Way, including personalized notes. I asked Joan how she was going to send things over and she told me the group she worked with last year may not be around anymore and that she was just going to find a new group.

So, I wrote to my friend Joan from my United Way days who has a son that just shipped back for his 3rd tour of duty in Iraq and she was thrilled that we’d be available to send what we collect here to Dan’s unit, as well as that of his fiance.

I know it’s small, but doing just this little thing is making me feel better about myself. I asked Joan if she could get names of any of the people in the units and if she can, I’m going to make people here write thank you notes to include with what we send. I couldn’t imagine being so far from home, especially at the holidays, never mind that they’re fighting a war that’s suspect at best.

Sometimes it’s the little things.

About snarkysillysad
A former marketing professional with 15 years of experience in the technology industry. Through her blog she has shared her journey through pregnancy and motherhood as well as her struggle with migraines, depression, and chronic pain

Leave a Reply

