Ah…. craptastic

So, I believe the last time I wrote on here was the last time I had a day without a migraine or pounding headache. That’s the kind of week it’s been. I was ok on the 28th actually, but starting the morning of the 29th, I’ve had migraines consistently. Its not what I would call “fun”. I actually had to use sick days on Thursday and Friday because I had a ton of writing to do at work and I knew there was no way in hell I was going to get any writing done.

The medicine has been working intermittently, but the worst part is, the headaches keep coming back… they only disappear for like 4 or 5 hours and then I feel my neck starting to tense up again. I know it’s stress and I need a massage, a good night’s sleep and a week’s vacation for any hope in improvement in my neck. It’s an absolute brick right now, all the muscles in my neck feel like they’ve turned into rocks instead. Lots of fun!

And what do I need, how about more stress? My boss called me into his office today to tell me what a disaster the marketing meeting we had yesterday was and how time was up, the website needs to get done in the next 2 weeks, enough is enough. I’ll do what I can, but in the end, it’s not going to be waiting on me, it’ll be how fast Creative Services can get everything done.

I couldn’t tell if this was an “I’m really frustrated and getting crap from higher up, and its going downhill” or an “I’m sick of this, get it done or you’re gone” type of thing. Does it really matter? I’m doing what I can. He said he wants very little text and said he thought some of the pages already had too much content, so that will make writing the remaining pages easy because he doesn’t want much on them or to review them himself. We’ll see. Better to burn out than to fade away I suppose.

At least the Phillies are still alive in the World Series, that has to count for something.

About snarkysillysad
A former marketing professional with 15 years of experience in the technology industry. Through her blog she has shared her journey through pregnancy and motherhood as well as her struggle with migraines, depression, and chronic pain

2 Responses to Ah…. craptastic

  1. icanhasdiary says:

    Those migraines sound awful! Are you on a preventive or an abortive medication for them? Maybe whatever you’re on isn’t doing what it needs to and you could try another one…? (Maxalt was the abortive one that worked for me.)

    Feel better. Man, I do NOT envy you with those. Migraines just destroy everything about a day. I find I don’t even remember details of days when I had migraines! They suck. I feel like by saying this, I will curse myself and get one now, but (knock on wood) I haven’t had one in a few weeks and it has been awesome. I wish that for you, my friend! Hang in there.

    The work thing doesn’t sound fun, but if the amount of text is less than you expected, that’s at least something. I know I don’t know the first thing about what your work is about, but if you did need a set of eyes to look at anything before you submitted it, let me know. I’d help you out if you need it! 🙂

    • For about 10 years I took preventative stuff like antidepressants, blood pressure medications and anti-convulsives in various combinations and doses. They all stopped working eventually, so I went to the headache clinic at Jefferson Hospital in Philly and they were no help. At the time, I was working at my last job and had a client who was a private physician specializing in pain management. For a boatload of money, he performed several RFS treatments on me and afterward, I no longer got daily migraines. It lasted quite a while and in general I get migraines only a couple times a month…. but this patch has been terrible.

      Since I’m trying to get pregnant, I’ve been trying to treat with codeine because the effects of migraine medicines on fetuses is undetermined… but since I haven’t been able to get pregnant, I’ve been dipping into the imitrex stash my mom got me. I prefer Maxalt myself, but I take whatever I can get my hands on.

Leave a Reply

