The weekend that was

For a weekend that was originally supposed to be packed with obligations and goings on, this weekend was very low key in the end.

Friday night was spent eating lasagna and catching up on some DVR watching.

Saturday I went to the dog park even though I knew it was going to rain. A few regulars were there and we braved the weather because all the dogs needed to play. I was kinda wet and VERY muddy by the time I got home. The dogs were happy to have had the chance to run around and weren’t too hyper the rest of the day. I started catching up on some of my entertainment magazines and loafed around the rest of the afternoon. R decided to make cookies and I just lounged on the couch. Saturday night was uneventful, just watched more DVR content and had some more of the lasagna.

Sunday was a nicer day and the dog park was very full. Most of the dogs got along well and Nemo and Chloe both got some really good running in. I was home by 11:30am and sat around for a little while before I got a bug up my ass during one bathroom trip outside with the dogs to check on the status of the sweet potatoes. R saw me looking at them and before I knew it, it was 2 hours later and we had removed every piece of vegetation from the garden and dug up every root vegetable.

We found there were still some viable peppers, especially jalapenos, when we ripped up the plants. That was surprising since we’ve gotten down near freezing a few times already. We had a decent crop of sweet potatoes, but I didn’t think it was worth growing them for the amount of space they take up and how hard they are to dig up in our soil. We dug up the rest of the red skinned potatoes, there were still tons in the ground, I’ll definitely want to do them next year… we’ve enjoyed them for months now.

The carrots and beets didn’t do so well. Our soil is very clay-like and they needed to be in looser soil… they didn’t grow very deep, we had a lot of short, fat carrots and very few beats. Oh well, lessons learned. R started cleaning them up last night and once he’s washed the dirt off I’m sure I’ll throw a picture up online. Our first year with the garden was definitely a success and we’ll be much better prepared for next year.

Now it’s another work week. The boss is out of the office until Thursday, which means I’ll have a hard time remaining focused, but I really need to.

Wednesday is my 3 year wedding anniversary, but R and I are honestly more interested in it being the start of the World Series. I think it’s hard for both of us to celebrate when R has been out of work for 2.5 of the 3 years we’ve been married. I know it makes it difficult for me. I hope all the tough times get out of the way now so we can enjoy the rest of our lives together.

About snarkysillysad
A former marketing professional with 15 years of experience in the technology industry. Through her blog she has shared her journey through pregnancy and motherhood as well as her struggle with migraines, depression, and chronic pain

2 Responses to The weekend that was

  1. icanhasdiary says:

    I’m jealous of your garden, and your clay-like soil! You know how it is “out west”… relatively barren dirt, kind of sandy, BLAH. I can’t afford to spend a fortune on the expensive soil, mulch and fertilizer I’d need to grow a successful garden. But one day I will! I love watching veggies grow. 🙂

    Glad you got to the dog park twice, too. That’s more than I did. I *think* about going to the dog park about as much as you actually go! Hopefully now that it’s cooling off I can get Hurls down there for some running. He needs to be around his own kind again, what with all this crazy-cat business we have going on.

    Happy Anniversary, two days early! 🙂

    • Yeah, I remember the truly terrible soil out West. I had a close friend who had a landscaping company with her hubby and they kept my yard from being brown and barren. I couldn’t even imagine having a garden out there. Luckily the hubby has a green thumb that’s almost unmatched. He just wrote that he’s finally done cleaning the root vegetables and pics will be posted soon… woohoo!

      I LOVE the dog park. I live in my head a lot to escape, but at the dog park, I’m free to be me and just enjoy the silliness of the dogs chasing each other. It really relaxes me and is something I look forward to every weekend. As much as my depression takes away my ambition to socialize and do other things I should be doing for health and sanity reasons, I still find the energy to go to the park… I know Hurley would love it as much as Nemo and Chloe do. 🙂

      Thanks for the anniversary wishes, hard to believe it’s been 3 years already; especially since I only had my divorce finalized in December 2005. ;-P

Leave a Reply

