It’s a good day to live in Philadelphia

We're on our way to another World SeriesIt’s been a long 7 months, but the end is finally in sight. A lot of teams have already ended their season, but last night the Phillies extended theirs and they’re heading to the World Series for the second straight year. More than likely we will be facing the New York Yankees next week. I HATE the Yankees. I always have. I was raised to be a good little Red Sox fan, and that means I have disliked NY teams my entire life. Truth be told, I was never all that into sports when I was younger, it took 6 years of living in Raider Nation to see how passionate people could be about their teams and how much fun it was to route for them. As luck would have it, I moved to Philadelphia just when they were really starting to shine. This is the third year they’ve won the NLDS, 2nd they’ve won the NLCS and they’re now returning to the World Series as defending champs. It’s an exciting time to be living in and around Philadelphia.

The Phillies are an easy team to route for. They have a bunch of MVPs on the team, but for some reason they seem like a really humble bunch of guys, unlike some of the “stars” on other teams. Yes Jimmy Rollins can be a little cocky, but it’s just because he knows we have what it takes to succeed.. and he’s been right. He was talking on the air last night with some local news anchors during the post game celebrations and there was no sign of pretension… I really like that about our team. And there’s Charlie Manuel… you couldn’t get a more low key manager. While I sometimes had issues with his faith in Brad Lidge, maybe he showed us all because Lidge has been great in the post season… probably because of the confidence Charlie showed him during the regular season.

I am exhausted though… I’ve listened to or watched almost every game this year, that’s over 170 games and a lot of my time. But it’s been fun. The stress of the post season adds a little more angst to my life than I’d like, but it’s the price to pay for enjoying the game. I wish I’d been able to get to more than 2 games this year, but at least I got to see them play in the park a couple times. Maybe circumstances will be different next year and I’ll be able to go to some more games. In the meantime, I’m just going to enjoy the afterglow of the win and the relaxation of having a week off until the World Series starts.

Congratulation Phillies…. you all earned it!!!

About snarkysillysad
A former marketing professional with 15 years of experience in the technology industry. Through her blog she has shared her journey through pregnancy and motherhood as well as her struggle with migraines, depression, and chronic pain

Leave a Reply

