And it begins again

As if I wasn’t having enough problems getting this damn website revision done for work, I was informed this morning that I had to get back into this stupid development process or no one would be allowed to work on the site. This totally pisses me off.

At my last job I managed a division that built websites. In my 18 months there, I probably managed the development or complete overhaul of 50 websites. I never SCRUMed once. I created tasks for each part of the project, they were completed and the sites got done incredibly quickly.

NOW, I need to write user stories and conditions of satisfaction and crap…. I want people to visit pages on the site and read the content I’ve written and then want to buy stuff from us… why do I need to write that 80 times with varying text just so we can then have a meeting about me wanting to do that and the Creative Services team can actually start doing the work I have for them?

I don’t like this process for software development, but it’s what they use at my company and that’s fine, but for website development it’s just such a time waster when this project is already so far behind schedule. And there’s nothing I can do because Creative Services works for Development and this came from the Director of Development whom I can’t stand.

AND, we’ll need to bring some random employee into the mix that is a “SCRUM Master” since neither me or anyone in creative services is. That means someone that has absolutely nothing to do with the project in the least will have to give up some of their valuable time to sit there and listen to us review the project status for 15 minutes every day and then participate in the sprint reviews at whatever time interval we wind up having them.

This is the last thing I needed when I was having such problems finding the motivation to write copy in the first place. Now I’m just mad and dreading what my boss will say when he gets my email that we have to do this, knowing it always slows everything down and he ideally wanted the site done by YESTERDAY. UGH!!!!!

UPDATE: Bosses response to this news was “A COMMUNIST PLOT TO SLOW US DOWN.”at least he’s keeping his sense of humor

About snarkysillysad
A former marketing professional with 15 years of experience in the technology industry. Through her blog she has shared her journey through pregnancy and motherhood as well as her struggle with migraines, depression, and chronic pain

Leave a Reply

