Just a little more patience

Nemo on my bed

Nemo not being bad for a change

I have a dog named Nemo. He is my first dog. I have owned cats for the past 15 years, but have never had a dog in my life before. He is a shelter dog and seems to be mostly Border Collie with maybe a little Sheltand Sheepdog thrown in. He has been in my life for 14 months now and I fear he will never be house trained.

This morning he went outside with my husband (R) to do his business while I was downstairs with our new addition Chloe (another shelter dog, rescued about 3 weeks ago, she seems to be a Border Collie – Australian Shepherd mix). When R brought Nemo back inside he went to close the baby gate we’ve installed at the top of the stairs and I stopped him. “He’s been outside and peed already, you can let him down to the rec room.” So down the stairs comes Nemo while I continue to play around on the internet before work. About 90 seconds later, I hear the unmistakable sound of liquid hitting concrete and look over to find Nemo peeing right near the stairs. I was livid to say the least.. HE WAS JUST OUTSIDE!!!! He knew he was bad and tried to slink off when I yelled to “stop it!”. I grabbed his collar, smacked his butt, put his nose near the urine, said “NO!”, smacked his butt again, dragged him upstairs and threw him outside where R was reading the paper.

I am at my wits end with this dog. At the shelter they said he was house trained and crate trained. Well, he’s peed and pooed in the house since the day we brought him home and when we tried to put him in a create, he peed in there too. The dog is an absolute sweetheart and a compete joy in every way, except for his insistence on being bad in the house. I thought he was lonely and acting out, that’s why Chloe was brought home, but she had 2 accidents the first 48 hours and has been fine ever since and he still insists on being bad whenever he’s given the opportunity. He’s so stubborn. I’m not looking for advice on how to fix him or techniques to change the behavior… this is a battle of wits and one day I will figure out what the problem is. For the time being, I see him spending an awful lot of time closed in my bedroom while the new dog gets to roam free. It just doesn’t seem fair.

About snarkysillysad
A former marketing professional with 15 years of experience in the technology industry. Through her blog she has shared her journey through pregnancy and motherhood as well as her struggle with migraines, depression, and chronic pain

Leave a Reply

